Meet the Supercommittee. Now What Will They Do?

Now that Nancy Pelosi has announced her strong progressive additions to the "supercommitee," aka the "Cat Food Commission II"* Reps. James Clyburn, Chris Van Hollen, and Xavier Becerra, the selection process is complete.

The twelve appointees are Rep. Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Rep. Xavier Becerra (D-Calif.) , Rep. Dave Camp (R-Mich.), Rep. Fred Upton (R-Mich.), Rep. Jeb Hensarling (R-Texas), Rep. James E. Clyburn (D-S.C.),  Sen. Max Baucus (D-Mont.)   Sen. Pat Toomey (R-Penn), Sen. Jon Kyl (R-Ariz), Sen. Patty Murray (D-Wash),   Sen. Rob Portman (R-Ohio), and Sen. John Kerry (D-Mass). 

It's a mixed bag, with some real hard-liners like Toomey on the GOP side.

Here's a roundup of analysis going forward.


*From Mother Jones, explaining the nomenclature behind the Cat Food Commission I,aka the Deficit Commission: ""Some opponents have taken to calling it the Cat Food Commission, since that’s what its victims will be forced to eat once the commission gets done slashing away at their modest entitlements."


AlterNet / By Sarah Seltzer

Posted at August 11, 2011, 7:54am

Sign Up!
Get AlterNet's Daily Newsletter in Your Inbox
+ sign up for additional lists
Select additional lists by selecting the checkboxes below before clicking Subscribe:
Election 2018
Today's Top Stories