Congress Election Results: Warren, Baldwin, McCaskill Lead Women's Charge for Dems in the Senate, GOP Holds House

Big news outside of the race for the White House, Democrats have won some big races for the US Senate, and will hold the majority. News results taken from CNN and MSNBC. The article will be updated as the results keep coming out.


Virginia:The election has been called for Dem Tim Kaine, who is currently leading former Senator George Allen 51 to 49.

Missouri: Claire McCaskill currently leading Tim Akin 53 to 41.

New Mexico: Dem. Martin Heinrich has been declared the winner 51 to 46 over Heather Wilson

Maine: Independent Angus King has been announced as the winner in Maine. King is expected to caucus with the Democrats. 

Ohio: Progressive stalwart Sherrod Brown has been called the winner over GOPer Josh Mandel. Brown currently leads by 3%

Massachusetts: Dem Elizabeth Warren has a commanding lead over Scott Brown, 53 to 47. 

Montana: Jon Tester is leading Denny Rehberg by 3 percent. 

Indiana: Dem Joe Donnelly defeats Richard Mourdock, 50 to 44.

North Dakota: Dem Heidi Heitkamp is leading Rick Berg 51 to 49.

Florida:  Incumbent Senator Bill Nelson in Florida appears to have a 13-point lead over Rep. Connie Mack.

Connecticut: Dem. Chris Murphy has defeated Linda McMahon decisively 53 to 46

Nebraska: The Republicans pick up one seat in Nebraska with Deb Fischer's win over former Dem. Senator Bob Kerrey


Republicans appear to have held onto their majority in the house, with some notable upsets.

FL-18: Patrick Murphy appears to be holding onto a small lead over the far-right extremist GOP incumbent Allen West.

Fl-9: Fans of progressive Alan Grayson have reason to rejoice as he trounced Republican Todd Long with over 60% of the vote and will return to the House.

IL-8: Dem. Tammy Duckworth has defeated uber right-winger Joe Walsh 55 to 45.

New Hampshire: Dems Carol Shea-Porter and Ann McLane-Kuster both picked up seats for the Democrats. 

Enjoy this piece?

… then let us make a small request. AlterNet’s journalists work tirelessly to counter the traditional corporate media narrative. We’re here seven days a week, 365 days a year. And we’re proud to say that we’ve been bringing you the real, unfiltered news for 20 years—longer than any other progressive news site on the Internet.

It’s through the generosity of our supporters that we’re able to share with you all the underreported news you need to know. Independent journalism is increasingly imperiled; ads alone can’t pay our bills. AlterNet counts on readers like you to support our coverage. Did you enjoy content from David Cay Johnston, Common Dreams, Raw Story and Robert Reich? Opinion from Salon and Jim Hightower? Analysis by The Conversation? Then join the hundreds of readers who have supported AlterNet this year.

Every reader contribution, whatever the amount, makes a tremendous difference. Help ensure AlterNet remains independent long into the future. Support progressive journalism with a one-time contribution to AlterNet, or click here to become a subscriber. Thank you. Click here to donate by check.

alternet logo

Tough Times

Demand honest news. Help support AlterNet and our mission to keep you informed during this crisis.